It is made from a bean called yogurt bean, which is a polysaccharide linked from long chains of carbohydrate molecules and is made up of two sugars called mannose and galactose. Guar is often used as a food additive in many processed foods.
This substance is very useful and widely used in food production, because it is soluble and able to absorb water and forms a gel that can make food products thick and sticky.
Chemically, guar gum is mainly composed of a high molecular weight polysaccharide, galactomannan. It is an exoskeleton composed of the sugars galactose and mannose and can withstand temperatures of 80 degrees Celsius (176 degrees Fahrenheit) for five minutes.
What foods contain guar gum?
This substance is widely used in all food industries. The following foods often contain:
Ice cream / yogurt / salad dressing / gluten-free cooked products / sauces / breakfast cereals / cheese / prepared and packaged foods such as soup / kefir
In addition to food products, guar gum is used in cosmetics /, medicines /, textiles and paper products.